Close this search box.

Welcome to Alberta!

Alberta is known for its seemingly endless prairies, soaring Rocky Mountain peaks, and some of the biggest, longest-running festivals in the country!

Nestled deep in the Rockies, the stunning Jasper National Park, and town of Jasper, is where you will find a four-season playground with everything from skiing and snowshoeing to mountain biking and whitewater rafting. Summer is the ideal time to enjoy wonders like the Maligne Canyon, soak in Miette Hot Springs and cruise through the tranquil beauty of Spirit Island. Superb dining and multi-award-winning golf courses also await your visit.

The province’s capital city, Edmonton hosts more than 35 festivals every year from the International Fringe Theatre Festival to the Edmonton Folk Music Festival. Big name concerts, from rock to opera can be found here year-round as can boutique shopping along the trendy Whyte Avenue, and the non-stop action at West Edmonton Mall with over 800 shops and services!

Travelling eastward, discover Kalyna Country — the world’s largest eco-museum and home to proud, diverse cultures. Must-sees include the free-roaming bison at Elk Island National Park, and the multi-award-winning Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village brought to life by costumed interpreters. Stock up on famous handmade sausage in Mundare, or explore the peaceful trails of Vermilion Provincial Park. There is great camping at Birch Lake near Innisfree, and geocaching and jet boating in Kitscoty. The Yellowhead Highway continues to Canada’s only border city, Lloydminster.

Province Statistics

Provincial Motto: Fortis et Liber «Strong and free»
Alberta was named after Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, the fourth daughter of Queen Victoria.

Provincial Flower: Wild Rose

Provincial Mammal: Rocky Mountain Big Horn Sheep

Provincial Tree: Lodgepole Pine

Area: 661,848 km2 (255,541 sq mi) (Natural Resources Canada, 2001)

Population: 4,121,700 (Statistics Canada, 2014 Census)

Capital City: Edmonton

Largest City: Calgary

Date Alberta Entered Confederation: September 1, 1905